Candidate to the Education Committee

Education Committee

Number of positions: 1 Chairperson, 1 Vice Chairperson and 8 members (Study Council Chairpersons)
Term of mandate: 1 July 2023 – 30 June 2024

The Education Committee is responsible for and handles education matters and student welfare matters within the student union, as well as for coordinating the student union’s Study Councils. The Education Committee acts preparatory for the Representative Assembly in education matters and student welfare matters, and is the organ where the presidium and the student representatives at Faculty level anchor their work.

Chairperson and Vice Chairperson

The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Education Committee are responsible for leading the work and coordinating the meetings of the committee. They should also be of help for the board in errands regarding the education monitoring and educational matters.

You can learn more about the Education Committee and what it entails to lead its work in the by-laws, chapter 14.
Any questions on the work of the Education Committee can be sent to!

Study Council Chairperson (Member of the Education Committee)

The members of the Education Committee consist of one representative per department within the Faculty of Social Sciences. Each member is responsible for coordinating and leading the Study Council at their department, which consists of the student representatives at the department. The members report to the Education Committee about what’s going on at their department, and participate in discussions about education and student welfare matters relevant to the Faculty level, the University level and the National level.

The Representative Assembly elects Study Council Chairpersons at the following departments:

  • Gender Studies
  • Graduate School
  • Communication and Media
  • Psychology
  • Sociology of Law
  • Sociology
  • Political Science

The member for the remaining departments (Human Geography, School of Social Work, Strategic Communication, Service Management) are appointed by the student union’s sections: Pluto, Socionomsektionenand Agora.

You can learn more about the role as a Study Council Chairperson in the by-laws, chapter 14-15.
If you have any questions about the role, send and email!